perder la vida

Learning to Live Missionally and Mindfully

For all the things that don’t go wrong… March 11, 2010

Filed under: 1 — Katie @ 3:37 am

I admit that I am the first person to shake my fist at the sky when something goes wrong and give a big Rachele Whorley, “REALLY!? REALLY, GOD!?” when things aren’t going my way.

Just recently, when my car died a few weeks ago (in the middle of the street… while I had a 100.5 fever…), I just sat there and thought Seriously, God? Today? while I looked towards the heavens.

Sometimes, I take pride in this. I take pride in the fact that I am very honest with God. I have never been afraid to ask “Why?”. When I hear people say “Oh, that Sandra… when her house burned down and she and her family barely escaped, she never asked, ‘Why?’, she just kept going and did what she had to do.”

Well… I’m sorry. I’m not that person. I have asked “Why?” more than once. When my dad died, you can bet that I was asking some major “Why’s”. When I was sick and homebound for three weeks during Christmas 2008, I guarantee I threw up some “Why’s”. For some reason, I have always felt like this was a good thing. My feelings, good or bad, are presented to God in a raw (but probably inappropriate at times) manner and I clearly state my case before him.

But… what I often fail to do is thank God for all the things that don’t go wrong. During worship on Sunday, I just stood in amazement that the vast majority of the sound equipment was working. Have you ever been ready to play for a worship service only to have your sound equipment go out? Yeah, that’s a major stressor.

Then I thought about how many times (91 days worth of time over the past 5 years, to be more exact) I’ve been in my car and not wrecked. Then I thought about how I am not homeless even though my income last year was… well… let’s just say well below the poverty line. Then I thought about how I am not dying from some disease. Then I thought about all the times I did not realize I didn’t have my debit card after loading $100 worth of groceries onto the conveyor belt. Then I thought about all the times my dog did not get hit by a car while he gallivanted on the street unleashed. I thought about all the times my mom has not yelled at me.

This is so elementary… I know that I should be more thankful. And usually, I am thankful that certain things happen. But every now and then, I think I need to stop and thank God for all the things that haven’t gone wrong in my day….

Like today…

I did not hydroplane on Hwy 69. (P.S. “Water on bridge” means “RIVER OF RAINWATER ON THE BRIDGE”)

I was not totally late to math

It did not rain while I walked from class to class

I did not fall and bust my butt while walking on slippery sidewalks

My bank account did not bounce today (or hopefully any day this week)

I did not have to eat a $6 1/2 sandwich from the Shelby P.O.D.

The Graves snack machine was not out of Spicy Chipotle flavored Sun Chips

Okay, some of those are pretty silly… but, hey, those little things made my day a pretty decent one. 🙂

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  “16Be joyful always; 17pray continually; 18give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

 

Leave a Reply

