perder la vida

Learning to Live Missionally and Mindfully

The Way it Looks November 18, 2008

Filed under: ME — Katie @ 2:55 pm

Living simply in America makes living quite complicated.

I am frustrated sometimes with what I am supposed to do and how my life is supposed to look. Not that I want to be different for the sake of being different, but I really feel called to live my life differently than others. I have spent so much time trying to fit into different circles and into cerain molds, but I have realized that although parts of me fit into those places, all of me does not.

And that’s a good thing.

Not buying clothes for a year is about more than not spending money. It’s about realizing that if my life is supposed to look like anything, it is supposed to look different.

My life is supposed to be set apart. It is supposed to be against the grain.

I have come to the realization that this is who I am in Christ and I am thriving in it, rather than running away from it. I pray that those around me who already know Christ are able to accept who they are in Him and to thrive in it. I struggle with it every day because there are things in this life that I want just as badly as the next person, but I find more satisfaction in Christ and His work in my life than in anything I have ever had before in my life. We all have a call placed on our life and I pray that we are able to follow God’s voice completely and without reservation. I pray we are able to lay our lives down – our everyday lives, even – for His work and for His kingdom. May we each find satisfaction in Him and have the courage to be different even when… no, especially when it is inconvenient and uncomfortable. And when it makes us look like we aren’t doing what we’re supposed to be doing.